How To Get Through The Terrible Two’s !

d24382dd0b3b71e2877f6be461e0e9e5.jpg
So, I am a mother of a loud and silly 2 year old. At times it can be overwhelming when he simply isn’t cooperating. He never gave me any problems as an infant. He slept through the night regularly. He rarely cried unless he was hungry or didn’t want the bottle (he was breast fed). When Cameron turned one he was still a good baby. He loved to crawl and lift himself up. By Thanksgiving he was walking and the rest is now history. Once Cameron learned how to walk he stepped into the terrible twos early. He goes through stages where he cries because he wants to choice EVERYTHING. He also likes to explore and touch EVERYTHING. Not-to-mention, He is in the “NO” phase! I have compiled a list of things I find that help me with Cameron.

I am a full time healthcare worker and nursing student so it is a challenge to give him consistency. However, I plan everything from school, work, to personal weeks in advance. Therefore, I know what I am getting into before weeks to come.  His father does keep him on a general schedule, which helps me tremendously.

1. Put your child on a routine schedule: In order to eliminate his temper-tantrums throughout the day, we put him on a schedule. I found that Cameron needs 2 long naps or 3 short naps throughout the day. Typically, he naps at 10:00am, 1:30pm, and 4:00pm.

CAMERONS ROUTINE
6.00AM: Cameron Wakes Up
6:45AM: On The Go Breakfast
  8:00AM: Morning Cartoons / Snack
10:00AM: Nap Number One
12:30PM: Lunch Time
1:00PM: Play time
1:30PM: Nap Number Two
____ Playtime/Outside____
4:00PM: Nap Number Three/ Mommy Time
____Evening Routine____

16 Make sure your toddler isn’t hungry throughout the day: On the weekends when I am less busy I try and make sure I have his food ready at the time I know he gets hungry. Cameron normally ask me for food once he wakes up in the morning, after naps, during car rides, and as soon as I get home from work around 5:00PM. To cut back on him throwing fits simply because he is hungry I buy many quick and healthy snacks. Some of Cameron’s favorites are:

  • Bananas
  • Apples
  • Danimal’s Yogurt Smoothies
  •  Strawberries
  • Graham Crackers
  • Ravioli
  • Avocado
  • Broccoli
  • Mac & Cheese
  • Soup / Rice
3. Make sure you give you toddler some one-on-one time: I felt really bad once Cameron’s dad told me he may be acting out because he misses mommy all day. Once I thought about it, he was right. Cameron would cry even after I done all I could do to put him in a better mood once I got off work. Once I started getting to his level and playing with him after dinner. I noticed he was happier throughout the day and bed time. Your toddlers do miss you and want the affection. It is very easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of our daily lives.  I feel we may forget they are still babies at heart and we should show them more attention.
4. Keep your toddler busy with activities: It can be easy to forget that toddlers get bored too. If your child has no time to get into things, they most certainly won’t have time to throw a fit. I use to be a preschool teacher and have learned so many tricks along the way. You can follow my Pinterest to get some daily activities.
5. Discipline is the key to a calm toddler: Moms, remember a calm child is more likely to come from a calm home. We use to yell and demand Cameron to stop the tantrums. After only making things worst and further frustrating him we sat down and thought about what we were doing wrong. If you want someone to be calm you won’t scream at them. You would try to find out the problem.
 Now, anytime Cameron gets frustrated I tell him, “stopping crying, use your words, and tell mommy.” Using this practiced has helped me to understand his needs while building his vocabulary.
Another method I use is time out. Instead of spanking Cameron for doing something wrong we decided to give him time outs in the corner. He learned as soon as we put him in the corner that we meant business. He stopped crying and after 2 minutes we ask, “Are you ready to stop being a bad boy and go play”? He response and usually tries to tell me more once he is out the corner. I didn’t want him to think hitting was okay or the only way to interact.
It can be easy to just ignore your toddler and tune out the noise. After being a teacher my toon-out skills are now on fleek. However, if Cameron is in the Living room throwing my pillows and I allow it by ignoring it. The problem isn’t Cameron, it’s me for leaving him unsupervised while I cool dinner.
“Remember a child will only do what you allow. If you ignore everything, your child will do anything. “
 Instead, bring your child in the kitchen and let them help. This way your child is busy and happy to be a littler helper. You get to cook dinner while bonding with your little one.
“I often say being a teacher has made me a better mother, being a mother has made me a better teacher.”-starnae

900228_f26085b2b4454fb9bf0af045c291cec0
6. When all else fells, give your toddler a bubble bath: I am not sure if this will work for every toddler. After a long day of ups and downs we can wash it away. Cameron loves bubble baths and tends to sleep better at night when he has one. I use The Honest Company products for his longer bubble baths. There is no real logic behind this method. Using lavender in his bath actually helps him sleep longer, which is a bonus for me so I can get homework done.
Overall, just learn your child’s needs and patterns. Get your little one on a routine, and don’t forget to spend some quality time. If you have any additional tips feel free to comment down below.

Leave a Reply

